Reversing Course

Last week, I joined most of the rest of humanity when I signed up for a FB account.

Actually, our daughter, Elissa set the page up for me.   th

I must say that the seven days were interesting. Overnight, without my doing anything (Elissa may have had a hand in this) I had over two dozen “Friends” and it grew from there.

My company uses FB for many purposes and it was “suggested” that I have an account. I procrastinated and it was again mentioned, so I gave in.  Recently though, we hired a company to help with our social media accounts. In less than a week, I came to realize that I could forward content to good ‘ol Jessica and she would publish it on our page. Why do something yourself when you are already paying for someone to do it for you?

Still being mostly  passive in the process, I heard from relatives, former neighbors, friends of my parents, past co-workers  and classmates that I hadn’t seen or talked to in decades. (None of them old girlfriends, so don’t worry, honey).

My blog statistics spiked as all my posts went to my FB page and the number of people reading ASVU more than tripled  in the course of the week.

All that being said, I have decided to deactivate the account in a few days.

The reason; simple.  I already have too many distractions in my life that make it difficult enough to complete the work I am assigned,  find time to relax, read a book or smell the flowers. My job has me pretty much perpetually tethered to two iPhones and a laptop computer.  I already have too much technology in my life and FB is interesting enough (and I know my personality) and I would likely spend more time than I should, reading about what people had for Thanksgiving dinner or their  opinion on Syrian refugees.

I will leave the page up for a few days to give any “friends” the opportunity to subscribe or bookmark the blog. As simple as it may be, it is a labor of love for me as I share the view out my window.   I will also continue on Twitter @rvisotski

After that, I will erase myself from the world of FB.

I’ll try to survive.

Thanks for reaching out and saying hello.

Cheers, y’all.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Reversing Course, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Reversing Course

  1. Pingback: Not So Fast | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a Reply

