The Lesson Has Started

I am in Orlando, FL for a few days of meetings/training with the leadership of our company. We are here to talk about the future of funeral service and what we can do better serve our clients and guests.Image 3

If you want to learn about customer service and creating a customer experience, there is no place better to go than to Disney World.

I was cautiously optimistic that this was going to be a good use of our time. Our CEO, Brad Rex, had served as the head of Epcot for several years, so I figured this meeting had potential, but how do you translate Disney to funeral service?

You know you are at a

You know you are at a Disney Property when you find this on your bed

There has been a few cynical comments left at different funeral service sites and quite frankly…it appears that there are a lot of people in the world of funeral service that are watching us.

It has been almost ten years since I had been to a Disney property and this is my first stay at the Disney Yacht Club. From the very first encounter I had with a staff member yesterday, (security guard at the gate) and each and every one after that, I have been continuously taught “why” we are here.

I am starting to get it.

Dinner...."Under the Sea".. The Little Mermaid was a family favorite and my girls are jealous that I'm here...

Dinner….”Under the Sea”.. The Little Mermaid was a family favorite and my girls are jealous that I’m here for dinner…

This training is exciting and has the potential to significantly change how we operate our funeral homes. If the schedule holds together, we will be learning for 13-14 hours today. Time to make believe I am a sponge.

Client families and guests will notice the difference.

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in The Lesson Has Started, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Lesson Has Started

  1. I think it’s a great idea for you to have your trainings at Disney! Who knows customer service better ~ and that sensitivity translates to every person you meet ~ no matter what field you are in! I suggest you send a pic of you and the Little Mermaid to the girls as a reminder that you’re always thinking of them (although surely they know it already!)

    Like

  2. Pingback: How So? | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.