Ain’t It Great.

Many years ago, Saturday night was The Good Rats night…find out where they were playing and go there, which usually meant driving 1-2 hours to get there. (This was long before the Internet and e-mail. There was a call-in answering machine that listed the shows)

I have been waiting patiently for someone to post this one and I am so pleased to be able to share a song that illustrates the range of themes that the late, Peppi Marchello could weave into one piece of music.

The kind of music that made The Good Rats a great band.

When I look at my blog stats, it seems that my music posts are the least read and least sticky. I understand. My musical tastes are unique.

Take a few minutes though and listen to this one. Close your eyes and use head phones if you have them handy….trust me. Try to count all the different places this song goes. Time signatures, instruments, sound effects…this song has it all.

It is called Major Minor chords, from the Tasty Seconds record. (That is not the real cover in the video, at least not the one I have, which is what is shown on the link)

RIP Peppi

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Peppi Marchello and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ain’t It Great.

  1. Not my taste in music but interesting – thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. Jetboy says:

    Ray, ever see the movie “Roadie?” There is a reference to your band here that I am sure you enjoyed or will enjoy should you check it out. Best, Jb

    Like

  3. I was aware it was coming and purchased my copy the day it came out….because of Peppi’s cameo and short appearence….he’s the guy sitting at the bar alone, drinking a beer. The movie was not that good, but it was great to see the GR mentioned. I watched it once, but now that you remind me, I might pull it out this evening….thanks for reminding me….and I still can’t get over that I was listening to Humble Pie when I read your post on Steve Marriott’s daughter…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.