Words & Music

Today I heard about a new book and had to drop what I was doing to call the local bookstore to reserve my copy.

They were happy to oblige.

I stopped and picked it up on my way home.

The opening paragraph:9780062114044_p0_v3_s114x166

Adelaide, Australia, March 3, 2013
I sit down and look into the mirror, staring for a moment into the eyes peering out at me. The mirror is surounded by high-watt theatre-style bulbs, and on the table in front of the brightly lit mirror is a small black makeup case. We hit the stage in about three hours, which means it’s time for the ritual that has defined my professional life for forty years.

Paul Stanley
Face The Music
A Life Exposed.

One of the founding members of the iconic rock band Kiss, ths will be the third autobiography of band members that I will have read.

Sure, they were over the edge and not exactly moral role models, but they did it…and kept doing it….and did it some more. Those of us that dabble in music cannot help but look at guys like Paul Stanley and wonder what it must be like?

Here is Paul introducing my favorite Kiss song….Black Diamond. This is from their concert with the Melbourne Symphony back in 2003…what a DVD set! The last minute or so of the video is Paul introducing the symphony members…

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words & Music

  1. P. says:

    Now that was an awesome blast from the past! Loved the symphony with their painted faces! Great video! This senior citizen was a Kiss fan too…..”Beth” and “Rock ‘n Roll All Nite” being my favorites! Saw them in the ’70’s in Schaumburg, IL.
    🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: One Down, Two To Go | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.