Choices

A few days ago, I read one of Kelly’s Aphorisms:

Freedom trap

Consumerism is to an adult,

what a play-pen is to a toddler –

recreational imprisonment.

~ Kelly Hartland

I have been thinking…about choices..
Thinking about the good choices, thinking about the bad choices and how those decisions interact with one another and how today could be so very different if any of those choices were made differently.

What is important?
Yesterday, I stopped at our local Walgreen’s to pick something up for Megan. As I walked into the store, I could not help but notice the lines in front of two, video dispensing machines. As I was leaving ten minutes later, there was a newer, but smaller group waiting to rent their little, silver discs. I was surprised by the shear number of individuals spending money to rent videos.

Lining up to be tranquilized....

Lining up to be tranquilized….They would be better served if they spent their Friday evenings blogging


What battles are worth engaging?
Maybe I do not always have to be right? Is it time to let go of some attitudes/behaviors?

Where is the balance?
Several friends laughed when I stated one of the reasons I was selling the funeral homes was because I needed to slow down and take better care of myself. I have a new saying, “I only work part-time now…50-60 hours a week”

What are my priorities?
I am reminded of the fad during the 80’s when people had bumper stickers that read “He who dies with the most toys…wins.” Already a cynical funeral director, I had one that proclaimed, “He who dies with the most toys…is still dead”

What do I waste time doing?
Is the hour or two I spend late each night and early in the morning preparing and reading blogs, the best use of my time? Would I be better off reading good, solid books?

Can I be honest with myself?
In the quiet of my heart and when I look in the mirror, do I see only the successes or do I also acknowledge my shortcomings and failures?

Spotted yesterday on a F-150 in downtown Aiken.

Spotted yesterday on a F-150 in downtown Aiken.


Do I have the conviction to make the changes I know I need to?
And that, my friends, is the most important question and I wish I was confidant in my answer and resolve.

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Choices

  1. I love to read books (especially inspirational ones), but have been reading more blogs than books lately. I find that it’s the people connection with blogs that lures me ~ the variety of people whom I’ve met. It’s like being at the ice cream parlor and being able to make friends with all of the flavors! Less calories and more fun! Does that make sense?

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.