Perpetual Eternal or Standard Eternal?

I have never heard of the movie, “The Loved One”…but I have now and suppose that I am going to have to buy it to watch.

The video below was used in our training, to illustrate some of the stereotypes that people conjure up when they think about going to funeral homes.

Although the movie is almost fifty years old, I know of funeral directors/funeral homes today that are not too far removed from Liberace’s script.

Our past still haunts us.

(sorry for the sub-titles, but I did not have a choice, not a lot of choices on this one…luckily)

But…

These last two days, I have gotten a glimpse of what funeral service is going to look like in a couple of years…and we are going to help create it. Dam the naysayers.

Like Michael J. Fox said in “Back To The Future”…You kids are gonna love it”

Well, as much as you can love a funeral.

I have to use a little light humor this morning to offset the Liberace scene…..

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in The Past Still Haunts Us and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Perpetual Eternal or Standard Eternal?

  1. Wow Ray ~ what an interesting combo this morning! I have to say I’m glad you included both videos ~ ending w/Johnny Be Good made the day a bit brighter! What you do is special and needed ~ I am interested to know what the changes will look like in a few years! I find it so interesting.

    Like

  2. Ray's Mom says:

    Liberace – plays the part well. For the future? I have read that drive-by viewings may be the thing…..

    Like

  3. Pingback: How So? | A Simple, Village Undertaker

  4. When I worked at Northwest Airlines, Checci and Wilson bought the company in a hostile takeover. Gary Wilson, was of course, deeply rooted in the Disney Company. Take my word for it. Do what you know and do not let these new guys and ideas screw up everything.

    Like

  5. Pingback: 50 Years Later And Funeral Directors Still Fight The Same Sterotypes - Funeral News

  6. J E pray says:

    As a small town progressive funeral firm, our family will be watching. It is true we need to make it a positive experience for the family. We are starting to see progress with the families we serve being more open to “new” ideas of celebration and telling the story.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.