Ten Years

One of my favorite blogs to read is “I, Cringely”, authored by Bob Cringely, who has quite a background in technology. He is actually one of the few guys, whose columns I read, that I actually see on TV from time to time…..hey, that’s Bob with Steve Jobs!

Even though I know little about technology, I enjoy his columns as I get a look out someone else’s window. It is like reading the WSJ…you always learn something new. Tonight, as I was having fun with all the music, (See next few posts) this popped into my in-box and quickly caught my attention.

Back in the late 1990’s, I was President of The SIDS Alliance of the Carolinas and I even authored a chapter for the SIDS Survival Handbook,2nd Edition. No, we did not have a baby die from SIDS, but though all the years as an undertaker and an EMT on the ambulance, I have journeyed with more than my share of the anguish experienced by parents as their world collapses around them when a child’s death is listed as SIDS .

Chase Cringely

Bob comments (in 2002) that the groundswell of research of the 1980’s and 1990’s has simmered a bit. It seems to me that might be true as I do not come across nearly as much information/research as I used to. I think tomorrow, I’ll make a donation to SIDS research in Chase’s memory and start getting myself updated on what is going on in that arena. I know a few people to call to start..Joani…Linda…Michael…

Thank you for the reminder, Bob…and may Chase’s memory be eternal and may we someday find more and better ways to prevent these types of death..

He writes a very personal post on SIDS, a topic I know in a different way than he and his wife…a very different way.

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Ten Years and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.