Safe From What?

Preparing Young Adults For Reality?

While visiting my parents in mid-june, I needed to  go over to my  former high school to get a copy of my transcripts  for a security clearance I was getting.

The area has changed drastically in the 39  years since I graduated and what was once a quiet, blue-collar community with several active farms, is now mostly an affluent magnet for “McMansions” and a very  up-scale suburb of New York City.

When I arrived at the school, I had to check in, provide my DL and have a name badge made, complete with my picture on it.   I was directed to the guidance department and upon arriving I was greeted by a sign that warned me that if I didn’t have a guest name badge to not even think about coming in. (Now, I don’t know how someone could do that as there was a security officer at the entrance, who took my ID and an armed, School Resource Officer at a desk right behind him). Luckily, I complied with the rules.   IMG_1500.jpg

There was also a “Safe Space” decal on the window.   Safe from what?. . . being called names?. . . being picked on because you dress in a way that’s intended to make you stand out?. . .safe from tornado’s?. . . safe from teachers disciplining you because you don’t do your homework?. . . safe from not feeling loved because you only drive an Audi A-6 in your junior year in HS and you need to talk to someone who will understand? (pardon the sarcasm, please)

So the students have a safe place to go to, but upon graduating, and depending on where/if they go to college, they will enter a world where their only safe place is where they call home.

The real world, at least the one I live in,  is concerned with effort and results, not feelings.

I don’t blame the kids because they just showed up. I blame the feel good/do good educators, coaches and parents that gave kids awards for just showing up and told them they were special and perfect just the way they are.

Get ready graduates, you have probably seen your last “Safe Space” decal.

 

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Safe Places, Safe Space, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Safe From What?

  1. From the rainbow colours it is obviously the safe space under the end of the rainbow where no-one calls you names, or laughs at you, and gremlins can’t get you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lakota Grace says:

    Hello, SVU–I follow your blog and totally enjoy your sense of humor. I did want to add a comment, however, about your comments on “Safe Space.” You mention the rainbow. It signifies the LGBTQ community. Many times adolescents who are gay or lesbian do NOT have a safe space at high schools. The suicide rate for gay and lesbian teens is three times that for a “straight” teen. So school counselors will sometimes use this particular symbol and language to acknowledge their acceptance of the person, notwithstanding any particular sexual orientation. It has nothing to do with Audi A-6s. Just so you know.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Claudia says:

    Things have changed so much since I was a kid. I was bullied as a kid, but back then we just called it “unpopular.” I don’t know about safe space — I wonder if just having to go to a “safe space” in school and everyone watching you is just another notch in the making fun belt. I hated being a kid. As an adult I don’t give a $$, but those scars last forever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes. I was the last kid to get picked for sports teams, even after the girls. I had braces like Forest Gump in 4th grade. It wasn’t until college that my athleticism came out. It hurt growing up, but it made me a better person because I have an appreciation because of what I went through. I always told our daughters that learning how to be a good loser makes you a gracious winner.

      Liked by 2 people

  4. I never was part of the “popular” crowd in school but it never mattered because my “safe space” was at home with family….the people who loved me no matter what. They were the ones that mattered and held me accountable and let me know that my worth didn’t come from other’s opinions of me. That didn’t always make it easier but you are right…in looking back it did shape who I was and taught me things I would not have learned otherwise.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. How things have changed. School use to be where you learnt to take the good with the bad and stand on your own two feet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

