One More From The Road

As Martha and I were making our way over to Houston,  I stopped for gas, (and to give us both a little exercise) just off Rt 10 in Lafayette, LA.

It took only a few seconds after I opened the door for me to notice. . . Zydeco music playing on the gas station speakers.

Welcome to Southwest Louisiana!

Happy music I was introduced to many years ago and have continued to enjoy.

IMG_1905.jpg

What’s that sound I hear? 

Then, as I’m pumping gas, a tricked-out sedan enters the area, windows open, speakers blaring, similar to what you might experience in your own community. The difference however, instead of hyper-driven sub-woofers and repeated use of the F word,  it was Zydeco.

The guy pulled up to the other side of the my pump and sat there a few moments before cutting off the engine.  As he got out, he looked at me and all I could say was, “Man that sounded great”.  He smiled and and walked into the store.

This is not the song that was playing, but it’s close enough.

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Zydeco and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One More From The Road

  1. emjayandthem says:

    My favorite boss I ever had was a Cajun from Lafayette ~ we are still in touch. He was just so much fun and his music was a big part of it. Being Canadian, and dancing old French dances called the Chautisse ~ similar dancing in Cajun country – we instantly bonded over the music – and the food, of course. Your post brought many smiles to me, thank you!
    MJ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is happy isn’t it. Thank you for the introduction.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

