Class Reunions

Be careful at class reunions.

He was a widower and she was now a widow. They had known each other for a number of years, having been high school classmates and having attended class reunions in the past.This 60th anniversary of their class, the widower and the widow made a  foursome with two other singles. They had a wonderful evening, with the widower throwing admiring glances across the table and the widow smiling coyly back at him.

Finally, during one dance, he picked up courage to ask her, “Will you marry me?  After about six seconds of careful consideration, she answered, “Yes, yes I will!”

Needless to say, the evening ended on a happy note for the widower. However, the next morning he was troubled. Did she say “Yes” or did  she say “No”? He couldn’t remember. Try as he would, he just could not recall. He remembered asking the question, but could not recall her response.

With fear and trepidation, he picked up the phone and called her. First, he explained that he couldn’t remember as well as he used to. Then, he reviewed the past evening. As he gained a little more courage, he said: “When I asked if you would marry me, did you say “Yes”  or did you say “No”?

“Why, you silly man”, she replied. I said “yes, and I meant it with all my heart!”

The widower was delighted. He felt his heart skip a beat.

Then, she continued “I’m so glad you called. I couldn’t remember who asked me!”

Thanks, Carla.

About Ray V.

Living between Aiken & Nashville, TN, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Class Reunions

  1. lisanne3015 says:

    My 40th is soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My husband and I had our 40th two years ago. Couldn’t believe how old everyone looked….we asked each other if we looked like that???? Never did really want to answer that one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.