Science Vs Politics

Science vs Politics.  TRIGGER ALERT  (for dramatic effect).

Now, I expect  that some of my readers might take exception to the comments and interview below and I encourage you to add your thoughts as you see fit.  As the recently added  logo in the lower, right states, this simple, village undertaker is not political correct, but I do encourage the rational exchange of ideas. Rational being the operative word, please.   IMG_1352.jpg

I know it’s not popular, but I find it difficult  to embrace that man has the ability to cause lasting change to the massive ecosytem called earth. I also ponder how the cries have gone  from global cooling to global warming within a few decades and how dire, apocalyptic  predictions of the past have not come to be, but few seem to remember or care.  The earth is resilient and has successfuly endured millions of years of  change. As poorly as we have occasionally treated our environment, mother nature has overcome.  The earth renews itself with  cycles, ebbs and flows.  It’s bigger than us.

Unknown

 “Earth Day Rally” Leftovers.

Personally, I think “climate change”  is more about control, power, prestige and money than it is about actually saving the planet, but hey, that’s the way I think about a lot of things.

I support that by citing the  government wanting to control/regulate more and more of our daily activities in the name of “saving the planet” and the actors that fly in their private jets to pontificate about CO emissions and then fly back to The Vineyard, oblivious to what they preached about carbon footprints.  I also look at pictures like the one here, reportedly taken after an Earth Day event and wonder what they were thinking?

It is always easier to talk (protest?) about something than it is to actually do something that  helps.

Do we need to be responsible with the environment? Of course we do, but there is a lot of distance between being responsible and being fanatical, looking for safe spaces because of the fear that “the ice is melting, the ice is melting!”

John Coleman makes his points on CNN.  John is the founder of The Weather Channel and he is a scientst. The video is two and a half minutes long. Even if you are fuming now and getting ready to “un-friend” me, listen to what John says and simply think about the possibility of what he is saying is true… especially about “the 97%.”

I’m with John, but I’d welcome your thoughts.  Fire away.

The video is a condensed version of an  interview that took place on CNN in 2014.

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Climate Change, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Science Vs Politics

  1. With you a 100% on this! I think every weather pattern cycles through….heat…..cold….wet….drought. Being a farm wife for 36 years I have found this to be true. I think it is rather arrogant on our part to believe that we (as humans) are the sole reason stuff happens on and to this earth.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. addie north says:

    I have to respectfully disagree… I think it’s clear that humans can play a role in polluting our environments–causing smog, polluting rivers, allowing toxins to seep into groundwater. These are all documented effects that human activity has had on the environment. The depletion of the ozone layer by chemicals such as CFCs is also a measurable and man-made effect. Whether you see the warming of the earth over the past several decades as a weather trend or an effect of human activity is, to be fair, a point on which informed individuals can find evidence to support either position. However, the fact that 97% of scientists believe that the change is caused by human activity (and that many of the dissenting voices come from studies funded by the oil and gas companies) is something that I do not take lightly.

    You may not like my comment any more than I enjoyed your post, but I hope that you will allow it to remain on your blog! I appreciate hearing differences of opinion, as I so rarely do in the community where I live, and I do try to listen with an open (if “skeptical”) mind even when I don’t agree.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Point taken. My comment would be that there is a difference between being a responsible citizen and one who creates panic for their own enrichment or political end.

      There had only been one comment in 7 years that I didn’t allow as it took a gratuitous and hurtful shot at my wife just to be mean.

      “If two people always agree, one of them is not necessary”.

      Thanks for taking the time to comment

      Liked by 1 person

      • addie north says:

        I certainly agree that there is way too much fear-mongering in politics, and not enough common sense. Also, I love the quote you shared–it’s a good thing to keep in mind!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. -Eugenia says:

    I believe “climate change” is a combination of natural weather patterns and the role that humans play. Humans should take responsibility for their actions in caring for Mother Earth. Regarding the politicians – no common sense.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mark says:

    The problem with this and many other things that people protest about is that there are many facts and pseudo facts which are manipulated to represent whichever argument is being put forward.

    Just look at the diesel incident over here in the UK where the Government used incentives to encourage people to buy friendly diesel cars but are now discussing ways to discourage their use mainly with taxes and higher fuel cost etc.

    I do believe us humans should be doing more to look after our planet, we are only one of many tenants, of this fragile world – not the owners.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

