Just Like Riding A Bike

Last Sunday evening after the conclusion of graduation festivities, I was taking a family friend to Charlotte to  catch her flight home.  Upon completing my task, I decided to stop in Rock Hill, SC to fuel up and get something to snack on for the remaining, two-hour trip home.

As I exited the interstate (I-77), I was greeted by a heavy thunderstorm and visability dropped to almost nothing.  Better to be driving slow than fast, I thought, and then I heard an unfamiliar “pop” and the handling of the car changed. A quick look at the dashboard confirmed my my fear, “Add Air Immediately.”  I was able to quickly  pull into a parking lot, got out and observed my  almost new, but completely flat, front tire.

IMG_1228.jpg

Driving down the middle of the road, minding my business and then this.

Swell.  I quickly reminded myself it had been at least twenty years since I had (and/or replaced) a flat tire.  Good statistics, until that moment.

Did I mention the torrential rain and lightning?

Luckily,  I had brought a windbreaker and ball cap so I went to work and completed the task, without even a scraped knuckle, aside from being soaked to the bone.

The instructions on the donut advised not to drive in excess of 50 mph.  I was feeling lucky (and knew I was only getting three hours of sleep before I had my own flight to catch early Monday morning) and at times, was actually driving the speed limit of 70.

Changing flat tires. You never forget, just like riding a bike.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in flat tires, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Like Riding A Bike

  1. P & J says:

    YIKES! What was that in the sidewall? 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you didn’t melt.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

