Providence

IMG_0972.JPG“The longer I live, the more faith I have in Providence, and the less faith in my interpretation of Providence.”       Jeremiah Day

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in God, God's Love, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Providence

    • Was reading your “Truth & Vision” as you were reading this. The posts are eerily similar

      Liked by 1 person

      • lisanne3015 says:

        I know. I’ve been “self-handicapping” again. 😦

        Liked by 1 person

      • Not sure I understand what that means

        Like

      • But, would it not also preclude any potential for success? Just sayin’ and it seems to me that nothing is better for self esteem than demonstrated success. Am I missing something? 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

      • lisanne3015 says:

        No…maybe too harsh a description of myself…just a dry spell of writing, maybe respite and refreshment might be better than self-handicapping. I attended a seminar recently that talked of women in particular doing this as a way to hold ourselves back from taking risk or going for something bigger than what we think is possible. The Motherhood Anthology was enlightening in that not too many people other than me thought it was a big deal…then I had to get off that pedestal and try to navigate hiding or keeping it up because it brought me joy because of the way I clearly conveyed this time.

        Liked by 1 person

      • It was a big deal. You were published in a book. I’ve had a few exchanges with Andra… a NYT bestselling author… she feels the same way… nobody cares. You’ve accomplished something that very few people have accomplished. Be proud of that. I’ll use a blogging analogy…. I blog to amuse myself and if others appreciate it, all the better Every once in a while I get an idea and as it comes together, I’m thinking that this might be the one that gets in Freshly Pressed or reblogged by someone with twenty million followers because it’s so good. Those are the posts that no one clicks on. It happened just the other day. But I liked it and each time I read it, I smile and that’s all that really matters. The less we expect, the easier it is to be satisfied. 👊

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Linda Gill says:

    I agree. When we try to interpret or explain Providence, our humanity sure gets in the way. Faith in the God who holds all of Providence in His Hands is the only way I can look at things…because Providence is His Sovereignty over all that happens, whether we think it’s good or bad. We can only see things through our own grid…unless we ask Him to help us see things through His…and even then we only “see through a glass darkly.” (I Corinthians 13–last verse). I look forward to finally seeing “face to face” with the understanding I cannot have until heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

