Closing That Door

Today, the door was closed on a chapter of my life that has now lasted almost six years.

I was a defendant in a lawsuit regarding one of my former businesses. It was a classic “He said – She Said” situation. I’ll further categorize it as “No Good Deed Goes Unpunished.”

For about three hours, spread over two days, I sat and listened to people who had never met me or met me only once,  call me evil, greedy, intimidating, corrupt, desperate, rude, uncaring and someone who only cared about money, (and those were the nice things they said about me). They questioned my integrity, motives, experience and it was  very humbling  as I sat at the defendant’s table taking that in.

I cannot recall a time that I ever felt so alone and, well . . . alone.

law-311363__340.pngThe stakes were high as the plaintiff was asking for several million dollars in damages for my “negligence,” but our insurance coverage limit was one million and our attempts at mediation over time had been rebuked.

As I listened to the questions and testimony, I was almost convinced that maybe I was that person they were describing, but I’m not. It was an emotionally charged trial and I’m exhausted tonight.

When both sides rested, closing arguments were made and then the judge charged the jury and then they were sent to their deliberations.

Everyone was shocked that it  took only nine minutes for the jury to return a verdict. It took less than ten minutes  to make a decision based on a day and a half of testimony.

The verdict was in favor of the defendant.

I just sat there and pondered what happened. They threw everything they could at my character and twelve citizens figuratively threw it back.

I’m relieved that door has been closed. . . time to move on.

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in justice, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Closing That Door

  1. I remember my dad being part of a law suit. I think his feelings were very much the same as yours. He turned out the same as you, fortunately. But it was a difficult time.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. P & J says:

    I also remember when my Dad was part of a Class Action law suit with a company that took advantage of seniors investing thousands of dollars with them. I watched as they filmed and interrogated him for hours in an assisted living home. After my Daddy died, I had to take his place as his representative and I remember how defenseless and alone I felt as they interrogated me! Well, the Class Action won, but my Daddy wasn’t there to see it. Somehow….I think he knows and he is proud of me for following through. Congratulations, Ray. We are proud of you too!
    🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Very difficult to hear lies told about you in a situation where you have to remain silent. So good when the truth shines through. I’m glad for you.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Glad to hear that is over. Never something you want to go through. And I promise I’ll always say nice things about you.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. So pleased that reason prevailed Ray. It’s not always the case and I’m sure that there’s many a little man overwhelmed by the huge legal machine.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m happy to hear that’s over. I hope you can truly put it behind you. People’s words are most painful aren’t they?

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Claudia says:

    It’s like the pain and fear of birthing a baby — at the time you think you’ll never make it through the moment, but years later, it’s all but a faint memory…

    Liked by 2 people

  8. lauraneville50 says:

    wow- you showed amazing strength and great restraint on many levels. You posted – I read it and thought “this is something to remember”….for many reasons. So glad that it is over and I appreciate that you chose to share it with all of us. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Dennis Simonson says:

    Ray , as a person who experienced both civil & criminal trials I have much empathy. It is very hard to sit & listen to blatant untruths about your character, actions, or lack of action & yes you do start to wonder if only Momentarily. I believe we do because we are men of integrity. We, afterall are the sum total of our life experience. Thanks to our parents, teachers, Nuns, Priests, & most of all our faith in a Benevolent God & his Mercy. I’m very Thankful for my vindication on both counts as well as yours. God Bless You.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

