His Clothes Were Old & Dirty

Searching  for a song today, I came accross two. The first was posted earlier today here: Seein’ the days and the nights pass me by.

From an outdoor gig in 2014. I miss that ol’ Les Paul. . . and the guys I played with.

The second selection was written by the late Danny Jo Brown  in 1981, and is included in a handful of songs that I have been playing myself for over thirty years.  A song that I have mastered, even playing the piano intro, note for note on the guitar. (which is fun, but not that difficult)

I first heard it live, performed  by, Molly Hatchet , which is how I learned it, then  the accoustic rendition and I just came accross the DJBB recording below.  The first two versions can be found here: Living Like The Wind, He’s Free

This is a great recording and I plan on learning some of those licks. I wish I still had my  ’76 Les Paul Custom , as it was made for music like this.

We all have those songs that just become part of us, right?

What are yours?

Now, it’s time for a little college basketball.  Go Cocks!

 

FROM THE ALBUM : DANNY JOE BROWN (1981) (R.I.P)
On the edge of sundown, a man rode into town
His clothes were old and dirty like the guns he wore low down
And as he rode the people stared, tried to look on him
He’s the man who’ll take your life, take your life to boothill

Sleeps by day and rides by night
Like a mongrel always lookin’ for a fight
Got cold steel a bowie knife, just his way of life
He took no one, no not a sound, stares at the edge of town
Only time that he’ll be found, is on the edge of sundown

Take you for your dollars babe, take you for your gold
Make your life so miserable, he’s gonna leave you mean and cold
And then he’ll head on out, to another town
The only time when he’ll be found, is on the edge of sundown
Next time he’ll be sundown.

He’s a killer and a robber and he’ll make you grieve
Shoot you in the back or in your sleep
Got no name or identity
Livin’ in the wind, he’s free—

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Southern Rock and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

