A Gentle Reminder

note: This post will view much better if opened in the blog, where the photos can be enlarged.

As I regularly navigate my version of  the distractions, interuptions  and roadblocks life throws at each of us, I try to find something to focus on to relax for a few hours.  Sometimes  it’s reading, playing the guitar or just sitting quietly, watching the dogs in the yard.

Yesterday, I was rumaging through some things  and found a CD containing  photographs from the mission trip I took to Africa back in the summer of 2007, which included  two safari’s. While there were a few stressful moments during that trip, for the most part, it was a relaxing time that I will never forget.

As I scanned through the photos, I was reminded of the beauty of Africa and although very poor, most of the people we encountered were full of joy. I recall coining a phrase along the lines of “We have so much and are usualy complaining, but they have so little and are happy.”

I also was reminded yesterday of a priest, Fr. Jack Lombardi, who has been a great blessing to my life over the last 13 years.  I should call him and consider  a brief detour for a cup of coffee on my trip later ths week. We are the same age and first met when he was the Chaplain at The National Shrine Grotto Of Our Lady Of Lourdes in Emmitsburg, MD.  He is currently the Pastor at St. Peter Catholic Church in Hancock, MD

Some photos, with descriptions:

Fr. Jack with a young, disabled girl who was found abandoned in a garbage dump as a newborn.

Zebras, just like you see on TV

 

Fr. Jack, running with local children

 

My, you have big eyelashes

 

Nice tusks…

 

I would not want to be his/her dentist.

Taken at Kibosho Catholic Church at the base of Mt. Kilimanjaro.

Orphaned and poor, yet smiling.

If you look closely, you can see a leopard resting and watching over an earlier kill.

The leopard is in the upper left of the photo and the kill is at lower center, where the tree splits. The leopard will drag it’s kill into the tree to protect it from other predators.

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in A Gentle Reminder and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Gentle Reminder

  1. shelie27 says:

    Great pictures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

