Can Someone Explain This To Me?

Over the last few weeks, I have encountered more than a few situations where our funeral home was called to care for a family  where there has been a death due to heroin overdose.  

During the day, I have my scanner on as “background music” in my office and the number of “heroin overdose” dispatches for the Cincinnati Fire Dept. is mind boggling.  It seems that an hour can’t go by without at least one and this morning, while doing some reading, I heard four within one hour.  In the time it took me to create this post, there have been two dispatches for heroin overdoses within the City of Cincinnati.

Ohio made the national news with this sad story, just the other day, Parents die of suspected heroin/Fentanyl overdose, kids find bodies

A county just to the North of us had five, heroin related deaths in 26 hours last weekend.  Some of the  smaller coroner’s offices are running out of space to hold the bodies and are looking to funeral homes for help with temporary storage.

What in the world is going on and is it happening everywhere?

Blues musician, Paul Thorn asks the question.

 

Robbin’ and shootin’ and rapin’ and killin’
Bloody murder, molestin’, runnin’ airplane into buildings
Everytime I turn around somethin’ else is goin’ wrong
Hey hey hey, tell me, what the hell is goin’ on?
Scared to read my paper, can’t watch T.V
The world’s gettin’ way to crazy for me
Everytime I turn around another poor child is gone
Hey hey hey people, what the hell is goin’ on?
[blues solo]
Keep your doors all locked up real tight
Don’t let your children get outta your sight
Oh boy, the good old days are gone
Oh somebody please tell me, what the hell is goin’ on?

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker living in Cincinnati, Ohio, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Heroin epidemic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Can Someone Explain This To Me?

  1. Somethings have no explanation. Sadly, we are seeing more of this in my city too.

    Like

  2. Claudia says:

    I’m afraid I don’t have an answer, but you have brought up thoughts many of us have. It could have been any kid we know…including our own.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So sad, and frightening for future generations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have we chased the wind and are reaping the whirlwind? In other words chased what doesn’t matter and now have nothing to hang on to? I really don’t know…..I do know it is sad.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I hear it every day. It’s frightening. Horrific.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dale Clock says:

    Ray,
    It’s not quite that bad here in Michigan but we had a uptick a few years ago and I stumbled across this book and it explains alot. I highly recommend a read through.

    Dale

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mac says:

    The market is flooded with cheap heroin. It costs way less than Oxycodone which sells for $80 a pill. Many folks were first addicted to Oxy RXs readily prescribed by MDs for pain. Kids got theirs by stealing Oxy from family medicine cabinets, Same situation up here in the NWest. Especially bad on the Native American reservations in the area. This crisis won’t go away until someone admits that the drug war is over and WE LOST!

    Like

  8. Linda Gill says:

    “What the hell is going on?” I’d say that the answer is “SIN.” But that is not politically correct, so I can’t say it. But it IS the answer.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. E. says:

    https://www.cdc.gov/drugoverdose/data/heroin.html

    It’s epidemic to say the very least. E.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Mark says:

    On occasion we have arrived to perform a removal of an overdose victim.

    Luckily the police and paramedics are really good and always point out any needles, that is if they haven’t already moved them.
    That obviously doesn’t stop us being extra careful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

