Blot Out My Transgressions

It was back in 2011 that I was introduced to this Lenten prayer/hymn by an Orthodox friend.  I was immediately consumed by it’s beauty and truths. Sometimes admitting the truth about ourselves is painful and even embarrassing.  How can you claim to have any integrity if you cannot bear to tell the truth about yourself?

My original post from March of 2011 can be found in the link, but you can read the words below and follow along.  Christian or not, the prayer is a reminder to be honest  about our actions and how we should strive to always do better in our lives.  If you don’t want to read the prayer, simply listen from a musical perspective.  Thanks John.

A Sung, Lenton Prayer

Glory to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit. Open to me the doors of repentance O Lifegiver; for my spirit rises early to pray towards Thy Holy Temple, bearing the temple of my body all defiled. But in Thy Compassion purify me by the loving kindness of Thy Mercy. Now and ever and unto ages of ages. Amen. Lead me on the paths of Salvation O Mother of God, for I have covered my soul in shameful sins and have wasted my life in lazy acts. But by your intercessions, deliver me from all impurity. Have mercy on me O God according to Thy Great Mercy and according to the multitude of Thy Compassions blot out my transgressions. When I think of the many evil things I have done, wretched I am, I tremble at the fearful day of Judgement, but trusting in Thy loving kindness, like David I cry to Thee. Have mercy on me O God, have mercy on me O God, Have mercy on me O God according to Thy great Mercy.

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Lenten Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blot Out My Transgressions

Leave a Reply

