“Doctor Bobby”

Bobby Goodwin
1966 – 2006

If he was physically alive, Dr. Robert L. “Bobby” Goodwin would celebrate his fifty-first birthday today.   It is easy for me to remember his birthday as he shares the date with our youngest daughter, Megan, whom he met on several occasions.  Bobby died in December of 2009  and I still honor our friendship with a  memorial of sorts on my office wall. I also mentioned him a few years ago on these pages.   

Bobby was an accomplished  doctor of chiropractic, but his other love (besides his wife and children) was funeral service. His grandfather owned and operated a burial vault company in Illinois and Bobby learned the business at his knee, becoming one of the most forward thinking and well respected  supplier of caskets, burial vaults, monuments and ideas in our funeral service tribe.

I was one of dozens of funeral directors who wept openly at his funeral because we lost a trusted friend and advisor.  Bobby was a huge asset to me when we bought the funeral homes back in 1999 and I could never repay him for his kindness and counsel. He lives on as an important influence in my life.

May his memory be eternal and may those who knew him, and who see this, take a minute and remember Bobby . . .  and that life is short and dead is for a very long time.

Enjoy your life and appreciate the people around you.

Thank you to Melissa and the staff at Aspen Grove Cemetery, Burlington, IA for taking and sending me the photo of Bobby’s monument,

 

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Bobby Goodwin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Doctor Bobby”

  1. Melissa DeLlanos says:

    What a nice tribute to Dr. Goodwin! I am so happy that I could help with the pictures! Happy Birthday to your daughter today too! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. shelie27 says:

    I agree, great tribute. I can’t tell you enough the pleasure I get from your blog!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. “Life is short and dead is for a very long time.” Wow, I love that. Seriously a great post, thank you for sharing it.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Mark says:

    On a similar sentiment, one of my favourite sayings is “you’re here for a good time, not a long time”. Make the most of what you’ve got and enjoy your time here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

