Birthday Surprise

Today is my 57th birthday.  It was also just another day at work. Saturday is the busiest day of our week.  People seem to schedule funerals so they do not have to take off from work.

We had five services today and one new family to meet with. Making things a little more complicated,  it started snowing  at 6:00am.

Today was the third day in a row, of at least 12 hour work days for most of our staff. In reality, several of us  worked a normal, 40 hour workweek in three days.  That’s the way it goes sometimes.

Welcome to funeral service.

This afternoon, just as we were preparing for one of the services,  my phone rang and it was our youngest daughter. I could not take the call, but was able to call her back a few minutes later.

The call went something like this:

Megan: Happy Birthday Daddy, I wanted to call  now because I’m going skydiving in about a hour

Me: Oh, that’s nice, thanks. . . You are doing what?

Megan: Skydiving.  I always wanted to go skydiving”

Me: On my birthday?  What if you get killed?

Megan: That’s why I’m calling beforehand

Me: What will happen to Martha if you get killed?

Megan: Anne Elise will get her.

Martha... she's a cutie too.

Martha… she’s a cutie too.

Me: I guess I would get my Volvo back?

Megan: Yup.

Me: Have you told your mother?

Megan: No, she would freak out

Me: Understandably so.  Please call me after you land

Megan:  Ok. Happy Birthday.  Love you.

Me: Thanks.  Love you too.  Have fun.  Gulp.

That was one of the longest hours of my life as I recall two, different skydiving accidents during my Fire/EMS career.  Not pretty memories.

As fate had it, she jumped out of a perfectly functioning airplane, flying at 14,000 feet.  She landed as intended and gets to keep the puppy, my old car and the memories.

Thank you, no.

Thank you, no.

Never a dull moment.

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday Dad and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Birthday Surprise

  1. Happy birthday! Your daughter is very brave 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P & J says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY FROM SC…..

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Awwww wonderful. Happy Birthday Ray!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Claudia says:

    Happy Birthday and glad your heart is ticking again!

    Like

  5. HUMPHREY says:

    Merci pour ce partage intime.Prolongeons ce petit bonheur avec un clin d’oeil en écoutant “Le petit chevalier” de Nico,qui semble réunir le ciel et la terre.Ou bien “Martha my dear” !

    Like

  6. Ann Koplow says:

    Happy belated birthday to you, Ray! Glad you all survived it.

    Like

  7. Happy Birthday!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Happy birthday 🎁!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Mark says:

    Happy Birthday Ray. Sorry for being late. Hoping you managed to get some time off for yourself to celebrate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

