View From My Desk

Life’s events tend to be cyclical.

When my wife and I owned our funeral businesses, our primary facility was located in a building that was constructed in 1869.

A few more modern stops along the way since selling them and I now find myself helping to  manage the three-locations of the Ogle & Paul R Young Funeral Homes in the Greater Cincinnati, OH area,  with the primary facility being  built in 1833.   img_0193

Literally a museum, this photo is the view as you walk in the front door, where you are greeted with a wood-burning fireplace and a helpful, attendant.  There are three, gas burning fireplaces in addition to this one. Visitors are often found walking around and simply admiring the decorations.  I took the photo this afternoon in between  visitors arriving for a service.

Two weeks into this adventure and I have begun to earn  the support of the owners and staff as we honor the past and plan for the future.   As someone once told me, “You don’t have to be sick to get better”.

Everyone here has been so welcoming and open to considering new possibilities in how we  serve our community.  A refreshing change, indeed.

Enjoy your weekend.

 

 

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in view from my desk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to View From My Desk

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    “You don’t have to be sick to get better.” I feel better now, Ray. Thanks.

    Like

  2. Linda Gill says:

    What a lovely new place! So happy for you, Ray! Sounds like this is exactly where you and your gifting can be used best. Many blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

