A Sad Ritual

A few years ago, I published a post after having gone through my cell phone, deleting the names of people who had died.  With just over 3,300 posts, I tried a few search terms, but could not find it.  images

This afternoon, I did it again, deleting phone numbers that I’ll probably never need again. Thirty four of the five hundred ( yes, five hundred) or so that I deleted were people who had died.

Friends, co-workers, mentors and  family members.

Time marches on and those of us in funeral service know as well as anyone that sometimes the band suddenly stops.

Anyone else ever do that?

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Friends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Sad Ritual

  1. We I was 16, I was a kitchen helper in a nursing home. About one a week we’d get a notice that a patient had ‘expired.’ It was my job to find their meal card on the trays and take it to the office. That always felt weird.

    Like

  2. My husband does, but then he’s a minister. Comes with the territory, I suppose.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mark says:

    An interesting post about something I had never really thought about. I suppose it is very final and another way in which mourning has entered the digital age.

    I’m afraid I’m guilty of not deleting stuff I should very frequently. I have phone numbers for people whom I’ve no idea who they are anymore!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

