Every New Beginning

For the last seven years, I have used this blog (linked to many other platforms) to give you a “look out my window”.

Here is today’s view:

Just a little over six months ago, my wife Alicia and I moved from South Carolina to Michigan. I had accepted a position that I thought would be perfect as I sprinted through the final years of a rewarding career.

From day one, something just didn’t feel right.  While Tom, (my employer) and I both had the best intentions, the differences in experience,  culture and communication styles  became frustrating for all involved. During mid-November, we were both honest and comfortable discussing that maybe the best option might be to respectfully and calmly dissolve the relationship, but that we would wait until after the first of the year to make that decision.   images

Right around the same time as that conversation, I was contacted by a consultant/friend who was working with a firm that needed to fill a  key position and that friend thought that I would be a good choice and would  I be  interested?

“Funny you should call”, was my response.

I listened and allowed that opportunity to play out and we finalized our agreement earler this week, just two days after Tom and I agreed that as much as we tried, it just wasn’t working out.

Maybe it is true that “God closes one door and opens another?”

While I am disapointed that my position in Michigan did not work out as planned, I have no hard feelings nor regrets. Sometimes, for a variety of reasons,  situations just don’t work, regardless of how much you want them to.

This coming Friday will be my last day here  and then we will be moving to Cincinnati, OH, where the next chapter begins on January 23rd.

I ask my friends to join me in giving  a standing ovation to my wife Alicia. Yesterday,  after meeting and having lunch with one of the owners of the new firm and seeing the house we will be moving into, she seems ready to take on the challenge of moving again.  She is a real blessing to my life.

I will miss many of the relationships that I have developed while in Michigan, but technology will keep us in contact.

There is much to do in a short period of time, so blogging may be sporadic, but sometimes it is great therapy for me.

More as we move on, but I am reminded of a line from a song that the boys and I  covered and  would end our nights with, “Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end”.

 

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Changes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Every New Beginning

  1. Best wishes for your new new endeavor in Cincinnati.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ann Koplow says:

    A standing ovation for the both of you! We’ll be with you on your journey to Cincinnati. They’re famous for their chili, in case you didn’t know.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mike Campi says:

    Godspeed, Ray! Where will this new opportunity take you?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. David says:

    All the best for the move. Haven’t heard that song before but like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kurt Harden says:

    Best wishes, Ray. I get to Cincinnati quite often. Let’s meet up.

    Kurt

    Liked by 1 person

  6. koolaidmoms says:

    Wishing you all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. All the best to you! And your great wife!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. P & J says:

    #4 “Aiken” dog may be re-united with her siblings???

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Best of luck to you Ray. Fantastic for you to be able to pull up on situation that wasn’t right and be able to pivot. Happy for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great attitudes and great opportunities. Congratulations, on the position, and having such a fabulous partner in life.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. You haven’t unpacked all your boxes, right? All the best on your new adventure.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Best wishes to you and your wife on your move! I have a feeling that you two will be a blessing wherever you end up.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. shelie27 says:

    Best wishes to you and your wife!

    Like

  14. Linda Gill says:

    I know this is another one of those challenging times in life–especially so close to the last move and all the changes it entailed. I am going to pray that God opens all the right doors, that He blesses your new position, and that He blesses Alicia and you as you two go through another move and resettlement.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

