Welcome, Number Four.

Until today, there were three, living  authors, that if they write something, I will make sure that I buy and read it.

The three are:

Michael D. O’brien   cover

Andra Watkins

James Rebanks

Today, I added a fourth,  L. B Johnson and learned I have some shopping and catching up to do.

One of our daughters picked up The Book of Barkley for me as a Christmas present.

I had a little time and read the first eighty pages this afternoon and am here to tell you I do not ever recall reading an author that paints with words the way Ms. Johnson does.   She weaves a tale of  life, death, love and  lonliness while sharing her  relationship with a Black Lab named Barkley. I don’t want to sound corny, but I can  find  a pull-quotes on every page.

Yes, it is that good.

What are you reading?

 

 

 

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in What are you reading? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome, Number Four.

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    One living author whose books I always read is Anne Tyler. Thanks for the recommendations, Ray.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

