The Asterisk

Image 46Yesterday, I published  a story entitled, The Asterisk Keeps Getting Closer.

A bit meloncholy, I pondered getting older and the loss of  a long-term friend.

Towards the end of the post, I used these words: “…as the asterisk gets closer to my name on the back page of the program. . .”  A few sentences later, I asked if anyone understood the reference?

While my stats show that over two hundred readers actually opened the link on my blog,   only one person referenced the question, but had no idea.   (Thanks Phyllis)

Here is the story:      unknown

If you have ever belonged to a service club, it is likely you have attended an “Annual Installation Banquet,” complete with a printed program for the evening’s festivities.  The back cover of that program will typically contain a chronological listing of all the past presidents of the organization.  The presidents who are no longer alive are typically denoted with an asterisk next to their name.

So, if you are a past-president, the older you get, the closer the asterisks get to your name on that list.

An inevitable reality.

Now you know.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in The Asterisk and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Asterisk

  1. I plan on avoiding the asterisk for as long as possible.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I guess if the asterisk finds me it finds me….till then I plan to live like I am alive :). Living is better than just surviving. May all your days be full before the asterisk finds you!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. This is wonderful. Wish I had thought of that. I may have to write something about this. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ann Koplow says:

    I’m glad I know you, Ray.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. P & J says:

    Looks like a few more didn’t know about the “asterisk”! Thanks for explaining it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mark says:

    I’d never heard of this, but I’m sure gonna avoid asterisks now!

    Like

Leave a Reply

