The Asterisk Keeps Getting Closer

I’m getting older and I’m not enjoying it as much as I thought I would.

I don’t enjoy  the aches and pains.

I don’t enjoy watching, from 800  miles away,  my parents, now in their 80’s dealing with very significant health issues.

I don’t enjoy looking back at some of the bad decisions  of my life and wonder why I didn’t know better?

I don’t enjoy  pondering if I’ve lost the business edge that I always had and sometimes wonder if I ever really had it?

After dealing with death on a daily basis, both during my funeral home career and my “32-year hobby” in emergency services, I am finally realizing that I will not live forever.

A bit of eschatological urgency for a guy who has hung out in the valley of the shadow of death for 38 years.  It has finally sunk in. . . and it sucks.

People who were and/or are part of my life, some in very significant ways, are dying.  One by one and piece by piece, parts of me are being torn off.

The latest installment is a man that I always used as one of the benchmarks of what a priest/clergyman should be.  Msgr. Richard Behl, 75, died the day after Thanksgiving.   unknown

My relationship with Msgr. began in 1970 when, as a new priest,  he was helping at Our Lady of The Mount Parish in Warren, NJ.  As a newly trained, Altar Boy,  I served my first Mass with him.

We stayed in contact over the years  and our last e-mail exchange took place back in October as we shared  ideas about a variety of topics.  In reviewing the threads, I also saw that the last time we got together was exactly two years ago tonight. I was up from South Carolina and on November 29, 2014,  my parents and I went out to dinner with him and we spent an evening with “our family priest.” Earlier that year, I mentioned him here, Noteworthy Event #1.

I regret that he died just a few weeks before his fifty year anniversary as a priest, which would have been December 16th.

As the asterisk get closer to my name on the back page of the program, I will continue to remember those that played important roles in my life. Believeing in the Communion of Saints,  I will pray for and to them, keeping their memories eternal.

Please do the same for those who have touched your life.

 

BTW….does anyone understand the asterisk reference?

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in On Growing Older and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Asterisk Keeps Getting Closer

  1. That is sad news. Never easy lose those close to us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P & J says:

    I don’t know what the reference of the “asterisk” means, but please accept our sympathy for your loss. God bless your dear friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My sympathy. It is so hard to lose those who have meant something to us.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Asterisk | A Simple, Village Undertaker

  5. Ann Koplow says:

    To me, an asterisk looks like a star. You’re a star, Ray.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

