Note To Self, Do Again.

Today, I took the advice of blogging mentor, Kurt Harden and unplugged for twelve hours of an “Analogue Sunday”

It was refreshing  and I suggest you try it yourself.  No “technology or TV for a day”

A rainy day in Michigan’s Great Southwest, I was not working today and my wife is back in SC until next week, spending  time with family and friends. After walking the dogs, going to Mass and visiting a friend, I went home, set my itunes to loop the entire George Winston catalogue and spent the afternoon, on the couch,  reading the 200 or so pages needed to finnish The Fool of New York City, by Michael D. O’Brien.   the-fool-of-new-york-city

Sometimes, it takes a while for me to get the feel what is happening in a book and if I don’t get to that point before getting bored, the book gets put on the shelf, unfulfilled.  Having read all thirteen of O’brien’s novels, I  was aware that there usually came a page when it all starts to make sense and I found that page early this afternoon. Michael teases his readers for the first third of the book, then it all comes together.

Smiling, crying and sometimes ignoring the hints by three, Black Labs  to go out and play, I completed this great novel just in time to feed the dogs and take them out.

 

This was a luxury I haven’t been afforded in, well, I can’t remember.

I must do it again, sometimes.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Note to self and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Note To Self, Do Again.

  1. Debra says:

    Your day sounds wonderful! I can imagine the benefit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. mimijk says:

    Sounds like a perfect day…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

