Choices

Tonight is an evening of choices.

History will likely be made with the biggest televison audience in the history of mankind.  While I have been a political junkie for the last thirty years or so,  tonight will be more like the car wreck you see on the side of the road and  choose to slow down to look at.

I will choose to watch the debate, but nothing will change my mind about how my vote will be cast.  I have intentionally, and with unusual,  self-control, not gotten involved in the social media battles that flourish these days.  There are lots of folks who I really like and enjoy being around, but politically, we are polar opposites.  I respect their sincerity, even though they are sincerely wrong. 414ae6ht7pl-_sx329_bo1204203200_

While watching the debate, I will probably choose to take a few  breaks and continue to read the memoirs of a friend  who spent seventeen months in prison.   I’ve had the transcript Prison Ragout for close to  a year now and just started reading it earlier this week.  It is a good example of “Do not let this happen to you.”  It is also a look into the very soul of a man who did let it happen to him. I feel a little regret as “Pops”  gave me the transcript for free and until today, I didn’t realize it was published and on the market. I plan to make that right with him.

So, while watching the debate,  I will take breaks, reading about life in prision. An interesting juxtaposition, don’t you think?

I will also ponder a third  possibility that our daughter Elissa presented us with this morning.

Monty, I think I’ll  take door number three.

image-4

  • OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

    A pond won’t hurt either

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Choices and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Choices

  1. I doubt that the debate changed many minds, but hopefully it did put into sharp contrast the choice we have in November.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

