He Was A Good Dog

The internet is a strange place.   Ignoring all the “not so nice” things,  it allows you to meet and connect with people you would likely never get to meet and even if you did, it would be at a very superficial level.

My blog is partially my electronic journal.  If you were to go back and take the time to read the over 3,100 posts I have published, you would probably know me as well as any other living person, short my wife.   You would know my music, politics, sense of humor, my dedication to funeral service and emergency services and my love of my family, including our dogs.

Zeke 2007 ~ 2016

Zeke 2007 ~ 2016

David Kanigan and I have been reading and commenting on  each other’s  blogs for as long as I can remember.  We have never talked, but have shared many e-mails over the years. His blog is also a window to his world.

Yesterday, his Vizsla, “Zeke” died.   David often wrote about the special bond he had with that dog. Recently, he shared Zeke’s failing health.

This morning, I awoke to see  Zeke. RIP

Today, I honor Zeke’s memory and in a small way, try to share David’s pain of losing a trusted companion.

When our lives are all done and someone is standing at the podium saying nice things about us, all we can ask for is the equivalent and sentiment of “He was a good dog.”

He was a good dog.

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Dogs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to He Was A Good Dog

  1. I read your post this morning and needed some time to respond. I was moved by your words and your friendship. Thank you Ray.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. P & J says:

    Zeke will be waiting at Rainbow Bridge for his master and his tail will be wagging! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. very beautiful…and what a tribute to both of them…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

