A Prayer As Day Ends

ImageA few years ago, I purchased  a book of selected writings from a priest who taught at The Mount during my time there.

Fr. Daniel C. Nusbaum, Ph.D. was an encyclopedic historian and the best story-teller on campus. Last I heard, he was retired and back living in Michigan. Now that I’m a bit closer, I will try to find him for a visit.

Here is the poem I flipped to this evening after taking his book from my shelf.

May God bless you, Father Dan.

A Prayer As Day Ends

Light is waning on the hill tops,

Valleys lie in shaded peace,

Soon the noise of day will quiet

And the rush of labor cease.

Thank you Lord for gentle breezes

Cooling all the heat of day

As the evening falls upon us,

Do not leave us, Lord, please stay.

And as once in far Emmaeus,

With your friends you spoke of love,

Witnessed by your op’ning scripture,

Lead us to the things above.

Sing with us a song of evening,

Help us pray with you once more

To a Father ever loving,

Here behind your shelt’ring door.

*****

(DCN, May 29, 2002)

From The Lions’ Den. Selected writings from

Rev. Daniel C. Nusbum, Ph. D.

Published, June 2008

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in A Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Prayer As Day Ends

  1. Linda Gill says:

    Beautiful. I’m planning to save it. What a gift!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

