Update From Michiana

A few random observations. . .

My wife Alicia and I have moved to a small city named Dowagiac (də-wah-jak) Michigan.

Even the trash trucks are regionally branded.

Even the trash trucks are regionally branded.

Just a little  North of South Bend, Indiana,  we are part of a seven county region that is referred to as Michiana (mishy-ana).

Most of the bigger stores and shopping opportunities are in South Bend and  Mishawaka, IN.  I find it strange that I have crossed the state line at several points and there is no indication/signage that you are doing so.

Apparently it doesn’t rain here much as I have had no luck trying to buy a raincoat/trenchcoat for dressing up and shoe covers (also known as “rubbers”) for inclement weather, which I am told is not that far off.

We are at the Western edge of the Eastern time zone, so tonight the sun sets at 9:10pm. Where we used to live in Aiken, SC, the sun set at 8:32.

We can hear radio staions from Chicago and Milwaukee, where it is an hour earlier. That can catch you off guard during your morning commute.

Despite the warnings from well-wishing friends and family, it hasn’t snowed here yet. As a matter of fact, there has been a bit of a heatwave with heat indices near 100 degrees.  The forecast is that the daytime temperatures will be down in the 70’s by the weekend.

The people here are as nice as can be.

Big trucks. Bigger than I ever saw in South Carolina.

Big trucks. Bigger than I ever saw in South Carolina.

I have seen trucks with more axles than I can count as they pass by. Must be state regulations that forbid them where I lived in the past.

Many of my favorite grocery products  do not seem to be available and being the creature of habit that I am, that is getting a bit frustrating, but I will survive.

I am finding that most everything seems different here from what I am used to, including international service clubs, fraternal organizations and even the Catholic church which is only three blocks away.

I have finally given up the need to be right, well, most of the time.

I am learning a new way of life.

You are never too old to begin a new journey.

You are never too young to mellow out.

 

 

 

 

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Michiana and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Update From Michiana

  1. Kimberly says:

    Getting acclimated to a new locale can be challenging. On the other hand, you also begin with a clean slate. I was thinking it would be interesting to hear about what you chose to discard or give away in the process of your move, and what you felt important to bring, materially and emotionally.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Val Boyko says:

    You can teach old dogs new tricks too. Wishing you all the best as you settle in to a new life!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda Gill says:

    Fascinating entry! I’ve lived in a number of states, including Michigan, but have never seen any trucks with that many axles! Sounds like you have moved into a totally different experience, physically, culturally, and many other different ways. Enjoy the ride! Blessings, Ray!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dan says:

    Welcome to Michiana. It’s great here. Plenty of things to do. I just started a blog called Family Friendly Michiana where I’ll be highlighting various things to do. Hope you survived the winter. Newsflash…it was mild this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

