On Deck

One of my favorite authors is Michael D. O’Brien.  As I review my bookshelf, I have thirteen of his books, which I believe is close to, if not all his published works. A remarkable storyteller, here is the link to my last, O’Brien column, Twenty Years Later, The Story Continues.

I have pre-ordered my copy of The Fool of New York City  and look forward to  delivery day.a37bdc92-63d7-4ad0-b96d-9084b0efca85

Here is what Michael says about his new book:

My new novel, The Fool of New York City, is now off the printing presses. The story is set in present day Manhattan and is the tale of two souls who are considered to be “fools” and “idiots” in the eyes of most people they encounter.

One is a literal giant, the other an amnesiac who believes he is the 17th century Spanish painter Francisco de Goya, hundreds of years old, aging more slowly than the rest of the human race. Billy the giant has also briefly suffered from amnesia years ago, and he understands the anguish of those who have lost their identity. He is an apparently simple person, a failed basketball player with an enormous good heart who takes Francisco under his wing after they meet through a seeming coincidence. Together they undertake a laborious search to discover Francisco’s true past.

The trail leads them to numerous adventures, into the shrouded realm of hidden memories, the ironies and complexities of human character and destiny, of catastrophic evil and of redemption. It is a journey into the mysterious dimensions of the mind. It is about trauma and remembrance in America.

Sounds like another great book  to me.

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Michael D. O'brien and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Deck

  1. E. says:

    You can send it to me as a going away present. You going away. E.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

