Decisions

“Decision is the spark that ignites action. Until a decision is made, nothing happens.”       Willard Peterson

Little did I know that my new employer had made some decisions a few months ago,  as maybe his path ahead didn’t appear as clear as he had hoped.  One decision was to take advantage of the insight of  Al Killeen to help him take this growing company to the next level of excellence.  Another decision was to take a chance and  ask me to come be his general manager, to which I made the decision to accept.

This multi-location  company had been experienceing some growing pains and the old way of doing  things  was creating a few, logistical  challenges and they were heading towards a form of critical mass.

We got to meet Al the other day, with very little introduction, but quickly learned that he was there because my boss saw the need for change and that he was smart enough to know that he was not able to bring about that change on his own.  That was a significant and difficult decision for him to make.

The timing of Al’s arrival could not have been worse. We were in the middle of arranging the funeral services for the two, court officers that were killed in the line of duty on Monday in our community.  Maybe, because of the heightened emotions, we were better able to receive his message?

I must admit that I went into these meetings with very low expectations, but  I came out energized, knowing that a big part of implementing the change was going to fall to me.  I could write for hours on the day, but will refrain for now.

One of my new "mapbooks"

One of my new “mapbooks”

One of the tools we all received was Al’s book, Soul Proprietorship,  which I started reading last night and should finnish before the weekend is complete.

The decision has been made to honor and acknowledge the past, but to move forward, using new and modern tools.

It is very exciting to be but one member of this great caring team and it all started with a decision.

Are there any decisions you need to make?

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in decisions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Decisions

  1. Ann Koplow says:

    I’m glad I made the decision to read this post, Ray. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lisanne3015 says:

    Good book for lack of energy or desire to keep trudging along in a position?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Liz says:

    Your entry certainly hits home for me right now as I try to move forward with career decisions.

    Like

  4. E. says:

    Sounds great Ray. Opportunity to DO something. E.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lately I’ve been trying to make the decision on when to retire…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

