We Profoundly Appreciate The Greatness Of Your Loss

It is Memorial Day and as I thought about a tribute, I came to realize for the first time in my life, that there is no one I can say I knew, not a family member, nor friend, who died in the service of our Country.   th

Back when I owned the funeral home in Aiken, I did have the high honor of assisting with the funeral for Cpl. Matthew Dillion, USMC who was killed in action in 2006.  A picture of his casket arriving at Columbia, SC (CAE) recently surfaced and was tagged on FB. But I came to know Matthew through his parents and friends after his death, not before.

I was reading a blog yesterday when I realized that there were no stories to tell about my father, grandfathers or cousins dying in war.  And, if the truth be told, I’m OK with that.

What slapped me  emotionally though was thinking about what it must have been like to receive the letters that are shown in the links below.   Thank you to Kimberly for holding on to them,  preserving a piece of familiy history and sharing it with those of us who have not experienced the pain of reading the words, “We profoundly appreciate the greatness of your loss.”

Challenges of War

Some Gave All

We can never repay the debt we own them.

Unfortunately, too many don’t care to.

May their memories be eternal and may God Bless The United States of America.

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Memorial Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to We Profoundly Appreciate The Greatness Of Your Loss

  1. lisanne3015 says:

    To acknowledge not knowing the significance of a loss, but caring so much all the same is, to me, honest compassion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

