My MBFF

Dogs really can be “Man’s Best Friend” and they often  fill that role with humble exuberance.

Snickers,  pictured below , was about six months old when we adopted him in the Spring of 2003 after he was abandoned  in our town.

If you were to go and look up the term “Ministry of Presence,” you would likely find another picture of the old boy.  Sometimes just showing up and being there is enough, especially if you are a Lab.

This evening, Snickers and I sat on our front steps while I threw the tennis ball for the younger dogs.

Sometimes I think of him as the son I never had.

Snickers during today’s counseling session

He just sat there, next to me, looking off into the woods accross the street, occasionally nudging me to pet him.

There are a lot of things going on that make this normally tightly wound guy (me) a little tighter, which is not healthy and not likely to help produce any positive outcomes.

He is a good listener.

Snickers reminded me this evening that  it is important now and then,  to just sit on the front porch, breath,  look around and listen to the  birds as they sing in the trees.

Thanks, Pal.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Black Labs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My MBFF

  1. Pingback: Switch Gears | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a Reply

