A Mother’s Love

Last week was my 56th birthday.  Thank you to the many, many folks who expressed birthday wishes on FB, Linkedin, Twitter, Tumbler or who took the time to call or send a card.

At my age, I consider myself very fortunate that both my parents are alive and relatively healthy. We get along better today than we ever have and I try not to take that for granted.  For those of you who don’t know the very special story, here it is.

A special, birthday card arrived today, courtesy of the occasionally efficient, USPS.

Here is what the  card said. . . 

Sometimes I can hardly believe that the man I see when I look at you, used to be my little boy. . .  Where did the time go? How did the moments turn into years that disappeared behind us at such great speed?

I am in awe at the changes that have taken place in you and sometimes it saddens me because that part of my life is over. Yet, I feel the happiness and pride in having a son who is all grown up, and nothing can dull or dampen the wonderful memories I have of you as my little boy.

Even the rough times (who me?), the trying times and the overwhelming times have sweetened through the years. Memories of you still bring laughter and delight, a warmness of heart, and tears to my eyes.

The pride  have in you and the love I feel for you have continued to grow, much like you have. You are even more precious to me now than you were before.

If you could look inside my heart and see the love there, if you could feel it’s strength and depth, then you would know that you have fulfilled my life in ways no other person ever could.  (-Barbara Cage)

My love always, Mom.

Not bad for a guy who started out as an orphan.  One could say that I won the parent lottery. I’d say so.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in A mother's love and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Mother’s Love

  1. lisanne3015 says:

    I hope to love my son this well for this long! Happy Belated Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Birthday!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. E. says:

    What a wonderful letter to you Ray. You were/are mega-blessed. And I know how thankful you are.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Absolutely blissful message of pure unadulterated love. What a lucky man you are!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

