How Loud Do Six Billion Mosquitos Clap?

Or: Who ever heard of mosquitos in February?

Started with this open deck.

The Day started with this open deck.

Another year and another “Oyster Roast” fundraiser. I can’t recall how many years the band has playing this annual event, but it been at least seven  and the third year it has been held at the same lake.

Last year, it was rainy and in the 40’s, so we played inside and it worked well…like a club where people got up close, singing and dancing. . . positive reinforcement for the band.

A few hours later we were "Livin' Like Larry"

Livin’ Like Larry:   A Motley Crew, as opposed to Motley Crue. But Dam, it’s fun.

 

This year, because it was supposed to be in the high 60’s, we opted to play outside and while it was nice and warm setting up, by the time we finnished at 10pm, the temperature was in the high 50’s which makes it difficult to play fast, or smooth.   It seems that somewhere in that range is the perfect temperature however,  for clouds of newly hatched mosquitos at the lake. I started counting and stopped at six billion.  Coming attractions of Spring in SC.

Alicias been my "groupie" for almost thirty years. How she puts up with me I will never understand.

Alicia’s been my “groupie” (and wife) for almost thirty years. How she puts up with me I will never understand. 

Most of the party goers  were spread out around the grounds and there wasn’t as much close contact as last year, but it still was a great night, breathing in all those bugs and playing music with my friends.

I use a wireless transmitter for the guitar, which gives me two advantages. First, it cuts down on the chance of being electrocuted (primary benefit) and second, it allows me to move around mingle with the crowd a little, which is fun, as long as the crowd is within 45′ of the receiver.

We had fun; fun as only grown men can have when they are trying to relive their 20’s for the evening.

There were several folks who took videos, but they have not yet found their way back to me, so we are still waiting to post that elusive YouTube video.

Thanks to our daughter Elissa (aka Jelly) for taking these as well as many other photos.   She is the reason Cole is nice to me.

Playing while talking to Cole, the one that wants to be my son in law when he grows up.

Playing while talking to Cole, the one that wants to be my son in law when he grows up. BTW, his hands were in his pockets because it was getting cold.

Fantasy night over.

Back to Realsville.

 

 

 

 

 

LLL, from (L) - Gavin, Danny, Rich, Ray, Jim

LLL, from (L) – Gavin, Danny, Rich, Ray, Jim.  Who’s the rock star?

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Living Like Larry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Loud Do Six Billion Mosquitos Clap?

  1. This was a great read, Ray! What a great tradition.. fun times!

    I always enjoy your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

