Thank You for NOT Being a Friend; an Open Letter to My Parents

A great reminder of the difference between “parents” and “friends”. Well said and with a few, minor details changed, I think I’ll copy and send it to my parents. . . even though they are in their mid-80’s.

Wine and Cheese (Doodles)

Mr and Mrs BradyDear Mom and Dad,

Thanks for saying ‘no’.

Thanks for setting a curfew. At the time I thought it was ridiculous. Looking back? It seems pretty damn reasonable.

Thanks for following through. Surrendering the keys to my car sucked…but you said it would happen if I did X. I did X. It would sound trite to say I learned my lesson. I would have done X anyway…butI respected the fact that you drew the line and followed through when I crossed it.

Thanks for making sure we had dinner together every night.

Thanks for not choosing my friends or telling me who or who I could hang out with. Thanks for allowing me to come to those conclusions on my own.

Thanks for not paying me for good grades, but expecting them because you knew I was capable.

Thanks for convincing me to take the typing course. I remain unconvinced…

View original post 399 more words

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank You for NOT Being a Friend; an Open Letter to My Parents

  1. Meritings says:

    I wrote a “sorry” letter to my Mum and Dad when I was about 20. I think I have a copy somewhere. Must try to dig it out to see what I said!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

