Who We Are

I’ve been rambling  about a book of late, sometimes even  using the term “seduced”.  I don’t think I have ever used that word, referring to a book.  (At my age, I cannot recall the last time I used that word for any reason, but alas, I digress.)

A very unusual work schedule has had me putting in  over eighty hours a week for the last month. I have had little time to do much more than sleep and eat. (That’s not a miss-print, nor is it an exxageration)

I have however, made time to make progress in reading The Shepherd’s Life, by James Rebanks, first described here.

It is truly a remarkable book and I am deliberately reading it very slowly.th

A snippet:

My grandfather is asleep in an old brown armchair that is for his use, and his use only. He has  read the local newspaper and fallen asleep in it after his midday meal. He is old and tired because he starts early and works too hard for an old man.

But I wish he would wake up.   Sometimes, when he is not working he tells me stories. He loves to tell stories. True stories. This is how he passes on his values. How he tells me who we are. They have morals, these stories.  


We do what we say we will do.                                                                                      

We don’t want much attention.                                                                                    

We look after our own.                                                                                                  

We are proud of what we do.                                                                                        

We try to be quietly smart.                                                                                      

We take chances sometimes to get on.                                                                        

We will fail sometimes.                                                                                                  

We will be affected by the wider world. . . But we hold on to who we are.

It  was clear from his stories that we were part of a tradition, that long pre-dated us, and would long exist after us. The stories left you feeling proud to be part of that tradition, but very aware that as individuals we were bound by the duty to carry it on, bound to try to live by those values.

*****

Note to self:  Memorize this list and strive to obtain success in their acheivement. . . and always be thankful that David Kanigan introduced me to this book. 

Second Note to self: When I went back to find the link to the original article, I found where he had also quoted the exact same lines. For a moment, I considered  deleting this post, but decided against it as the lesson too good not to share, again and again.

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in The Shepher's Life, The Shepherd's Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who We Are

  1. Like leftovers, it is so much better re-reading it the second or third time. Thank you Ray.

    Like

  2. niasunset says:

    Yes, I do agree with you both, it was so nice re-reading… I love this kind of stories, so beautiful and yes, so meaningful… Thank you, Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

