Just A Different Kettle Of Fish

In just a few weeks, this blog will be six years old.  These virtual pages have introduced me to many that I now call “friend.”  Some I have met and others are on far-away continents,  but there are common bonds.

One of those men is Kurt Harden, author of the acclaimed, CulturalOffering blog. We have shared some common life  experiences, a few cigars, fine food and drink.  Separated by about 750 miles,  every now and then our path’s cross, like here.

Earlier today, I was reading CO and found this headline, It’s not Christmas until I see Hans Grubber fall off Nakatomi Plaza.  Not recognizing either, I sent a tweet to Kurt and he directed me to watch the movie Die Hard.

Interestingly enough, having worked in Emergency Services and Funeral Service for over thirty years, I have observed just about any way you can die  and do not enjoy watching violent movies.  No value judgement involved, but as Jimmy Buffett would say, “It’s not my cup of chowder”.  However, if it is special for Kurt and signals another step towards Christmas Day for him, so be it.  I get it.

It’s just a different kettle of fish.   Sleep in peace copy

I too, have something special that I consider an integral part of the Christmas season.  It is listening to the audio version of Og Mandino’s The Greatest Salesman in The World.  I have done so every year since 1988 and tell of one of my prized possessions here.

This evening, I was able to locate a version of the book on YouTube, read by the author and I listened to it after dinner….just a little over two hours, including a great introduction by Og himself.

If you do not know the story, do yourself a favor and listen to it.  Reading is great, but listening to Og tell Hafid’s story is magical.

If you want to cheat, start listening at 31.30 and listen for 30 minutes, but there is no good reason to cheat.

My Christmas gift to you.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in The Greatest Salesman in the world and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just A Different Kettle Of Fish

  1. Know the story. Love the book. Happy Holidays to you and your family Ray

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

