Situational Awareness, Pt. II

This story  borders on embarrassing, but the truth must be told and amends must be offered to several bloggers, many of whom are  readers of ASVU  for reasons that you will better understand, (hopefully)  by the end of this story.

Like most people, I am a creature of habit.  Each morning, I get up, dressed, start the coffee, feed the dogs, walk down the driveway to get the paper, let the dogs back in, and then sit down at the kitchen table with my first cup of coffee, in front of  my trusty MacBook Air. After an hour or so of online reading/writing,  it is time to leave for work and I’m out the door by 0645 for another day of adventure.    th

Because of our similar schedules, (getting up early),  one of the first things I see and read each morning are e-mail notifications, introducing me to  posts by David Kanigan. David is very consistant, but the other day, I noticed there were no e-mails.  Wondering if David might be traveling or sick, I went directly to his website Live & Learn, and there were today’s posts.  Hmmmm?  I then went back into my mail program and typed in his e-mail address  into the search box and multiple e-mails appeared, all indicating that they had not been read.  I’m still not getting it, but it nagged at me. (All you smart computer folks who already figured it out are probably having a good laugh at my expense by now).

Nothing else seemed out of place, but why wasn’t I able to see his e-mails? The easy solution  was to bookmark the homepage of his website and move on.

Did I mention that nothing else seemed out of place?  Yes, I did.

It was yesterday morning, just before I had to leave that I happened to look at the left margin of my mail program (It is probably important to note that I have four (4) separate e-mail addresses all running together on the Mac. Three for work and one personal. Why do I have three work e-mail addresses you may ask? The answer is complicated, but we sure like redundancy).  Consequently, there is a plethora of folders in that left margin.

In the margin, I observed that the  spam folder for my gmail account had magically grown to 989 messages.  One might consider that being “out of place”.

On my work laptop, a Dell, because of a strong firewall,  I don’t get spam and only check the “junk” folders,  rarely finding  anything worth saving.

th-1Not only did I find dozens of emails from DK and ads for  Russian Brides,  I also came to realize that most, if not all of my subscripted notifications were there.

The obvious question would be why would e-mails that made it through every days for several years now be blocked by the spam sentinels ?  No answer from me.

Now, I know that many bloggers take time off now and then, but I am shocked, dismayed and apologetic for not realizing that something wasn’t right sooner as as I scanned through those almost 1,000 emails yesterday afternoon, deleting what I knew were probably some great stories.

So for those of you that might have been wondering why my regular, pithy comments and “likes”  had stopped,  you can stop wondering.

 

 

 

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Situational Awareness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Situational Awareness, Pt. II

  1. Appreciate a number of parallels. Morning habits. Macbook. Morning routines. And did chuckle about my posts being interspersed with Russian Brides…glad you found the solve Ray.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jeff Harbeson says:

    If I think you have gone missing, I would simply call your bride and ask her to check your humidor. Cheers my friend! #thefuneralcommander

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Meritings says:

    Aren’t MacBooks great. How did we manage before?

    I haven’t got any Russian bride ads. Am I missing out?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Life Through Our Eyes | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a Reply

