Sunday With Dean

The back story is here: The Sky Was Purple

But It really started (unintentionally, in 2011) here:   Sunday Morning Music

Here is today’s song from Dean, recorded “a few yesterdays ago”.

Note: My references to Dean have caught his atention as he now follows me on Twitter.  Since he only lives about an hour up Rt. 287  from my parents, maybe on the next trip to visit with them,  I’ll try to arrange a quick visit? Lunch would be on me.

By dean friedman

Lydia keeps my toothbrush in her apartment and she never complains.
Well, hardly ever. and then jokingly she says
Boy, it’s been so long since I held you, I nearly gave you up for dead. I nearly gave you up for dead. I nearly gave you up for dead.

Lydia, lydia how come you understand?
I can offer you nothing at all. this is more than I had planned.
Lydia, lydia I am at your command, at least until morning comes,
Then, I must be off again.

Lydia, you know I always talk about making conscious decisions, about running my own life. well, maybe I’m fooling myself. it’s a role I like to play.
Because more often than not I’m down here on the corner. I’m sorry I woke you. do you feel like some company? babe, I need a place to stay.

Lydia, lydia how come you understand?
I can offer you nothing at all. this is more than I had planned.
Lydia, lydia I am at your command, at least until morning comes,
Then, I must be off again.

I sleep with a woman who thinks I’m a child. well, maybe I am. no, that wouldn’t surprise anyone. I suspect that much is true.
But, lydia, if you only knew how much I love you. did you know that I love you? it’s the best that I can do.

Lydia, lydia how come you understand?
I can offer you nothing at all. this is more than I had planned.
Lydia, lydia I am at your command, at least until morning comes,
Then, I must be off again.

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Dean Friedman and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

