Go With A Simple Theme

Yesterday afternoon, my wife and I attended the wedding of a friend of our daughters, who we have known and liked for years.   Elissa was in the wedding party.  The church ceremony was performed at a recently renovated, United  Methodist Church (I loved the new, stained glass windows) and the reception was held at one of the well-known, historic venues in our city, just a few blocks away from the church.

The groom was a police officer from down near Charleston, SC and his shift was up to celebrate this special day with their brother.

One of the themes quietly making itself known in a very subtle, yet creative way, was that of law enforcement.

Everyone got to take home a box of Krispy Kreme Donuts…get it, cops and donuts?

Everyone got to take home a box of Krispy Kreme Donuts…get it, cops and donuts?

I am mentioning this today only because I was reminded that weddings don’t have to be huge and ridiculously expensive to be a wonderful experience.

I think I teared up more yesterday than I have in a long time. Things were thought out and maybe because they didn’t have an unlimited budget to work with from Daddy’s checkbook  (her daddy died when she was in grade school) they did what they could.

The pastor who officiated,  conducted her father’s funeral many years ago. He is in another city now, but came back to Aiken for the wedding. He got to touch her life and make another unforgetable mark on her memory.  The pastor and I  got along great when he was here and we were able to spend a few minutes catching up at the reception.

All guests signed in and left their fingerprints on this wreath. What a great keepsake!  (I edited out their names as I did not ask permission to use them and didn't want to bother them last night as they were "otherwise occupied".

All guests signed in and left their fingerprints on this wreath print, which was approximately 2′ x 3′. What a great keepsake! (I edited out their names as I did not ask permission to use them and didn’t want to bother them last night as they were “otherwise occupied”.

It was personal.

It was them and I applaud the result.

I for one, really appreciate the effort and frustrations that probably went into planning this wedding.

Also noting that all three of our daughters spent Thursday evening helpng with last minute preparations.

I just hope that they remember that  “a perfect marriage is two, imperfect people never giving up on each other”.

Elissa (Jelly) and her man, Cole, at the receiption

Elissa (Jelly) and her man, Cole, at the receiption

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Wedding Themes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Go With A Simple Theme

  1. lulu says:

    Krispy Creme donuts…..what a clever idea for a wedding take away!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The donuts…..wonderful touch. This story, beautifully touching.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of this, hits me in my core. Truth.

    Like

Leave a Reply

