Essential Mixes — Jim Croce

I am working towards fulfilling my contractural obligation as a contributing columnsist over at Cultural Offering, Music Division.

Read about Jim Croce here.  Jim Croce        th

I could  write a book about Croce. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time. I have intentionally left off  some of the big hits. Personally, I don’t think the were his best music and this blog is about what I think.  These songs, all but one, are filled with great one-liners and hook phrases. Croce was very good at weaving words together.  

Don’t believe me?  Take a listen for yourself and if you are older than 50, enjoy the stroll down memory lane.

 

Coal Tattoo                                   Facets, 1966

Ballad of Gunga Din                    Facets, 1966

Operator                                        You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

Thursday                                         I Got A Name, 1973

A Long Time Ago                          You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

I Got A Name                                 I Got A Name, 1973

Which Way Are You Goin?        The Faces I’ve Been, 1975

Walkin Back To Georgia             You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

Box #10                                           You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

Speedball Tucker                         Life and Times, 1973

Roller Derby Queen                    Life and Times, 1973

Hard Time Losin Man                 You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

These Dreams                               Life and Times, 1973

Running Maggie                           Facets, 1966

Careful Man                                    Life and Times, 1973

Next Time, This Time                 Life and Times, 1973

Workin at the Carwash Blues   I Got A Name, 1973

Tomorrow’s Gonna Be A Brighter Day,  You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

Hey Tomorrow                              You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

The Hard Way Every Time          I Got A Name, 1973

Charlie Green                                Facets, 1966

Dreamin Again                              Life and Times, 1973

Lover’s Cross                                 I Got A Name, 1973

Rapid Roy                                       You Don’t Mess Around With Jim, 1972

th-1

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Essential Mixes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Essential Mixes — Jim Croce

Leave a Reply

