Twenty Years Later, The Story Continues

Have you ever held a book in your hands after completing it, and  just knew that you would never forget it?

For me, that has happened only a handful of occasions.  I recall however,  a time in January of 1999 that I felt exactly that way.  The book that I had just finished on an airplane, while flying back from Houston, TX was called Father Elijah. I also then promised myself that if Michael D. O’Brien wrote it . . . I would read it and that if I ever got the chance to meet him, I would take advantage of that opportunity.

As soon as I opened the mailbox, I knew what that package was!

As soon as I opened the mailbox, I knew what that package was!

It would take too long to describe the story and frankly, I don’t think I would know where to begin, but here is the Goodreads Page.

I will add one, additional comment and that is while the book is written about a Catholic priest, from a decidedly Catholic perspective, I really believe that anyone can read this book and become engrossed in the story and characters, regardless of their faith or lack thereof.

The final sentences of Father Elijah made it clear to the reader that another story was about to begin.

That novel, Elijah in Jerusalem,  was published twenty years after Father Elijah and was released this past week.   I pre-ordered my copy a few months ago, it arrived Friday and I began reading it last night.

A short novel, by O’brien standards, it is only 282 pages. (Father Elijah is 596 and most of Michael’s novels are between 500-800 pages with his The Father’s Tale being 1,076 pages.

I read the first chapter (41 pages) last night and am already firmly pulled into the plot.

I haved lived up to the promise I made to myself in 1999.

I haved lived up to the promise I made to myself in 1999.

Other responsibilities will suffer until I finnish these pages.

Those around me will need to understand.

 

 

About A Simple Village Undertaker

I am just a simple, village undertaker back living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA who likes to share the view out of my window.
This entry was posted in Elijah in Jerusalem and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Twenty Years Later, The Story Continues

  1. eclectipundit says:

    I strongly recommend “Voyage to Alpha Centauri” to your hundreds of thousands of daily readers. I look forward to the sequel also. Can I huh? Can I huh? E.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tony R says:

    I will have to read that book. I am going to try to see if I can find it on Kindle.
    Tony R

    Like

  3. Dennis Simonson says:

    Thanks for sharing Ray I’ll put it on my to do List. DS

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: On Deck | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a Reply

