And The Worst Part Was. . .

This afternoon, I was in my man-cave, cleaning all my “guitar stuff” from the event we played at yesterday when my cell phone rang and it was daughter #2, aka Elissa, but more commonly known as  “Jelly”.

“In a very calm voice she said, “Dad can you come up the street, some kid just hit me and totaled my car”

Now, this is not the first time I have received such a call from one of my daughters, but typically they have been filtered through tears, excuses and drama, but not this time.

“Anybody hurt?”….”No”

You can see the stop sign over the blurred image of te other driver.

You can see the stop sign over the blurred image of the other driver.

.

“OK, I’m on my way”

As I’m driving the 1/3 mile to the stop sign on the only street in / out of our neighborhood, I’m thinking, “How bad could it be, she wasn’t even upset?”

Well, wasn’t I surprised two minutes later as I pulled up and found a jacked up pickup truck intruding  into her 14-year old Infinity QXR?

After the pickup was removed from her grill

After the pickup was removed from her grill

The young driver,  decided to take his eyes off the road as he prepared to turn left out of our street, where he lives also.  Jelly was stopped at the stop sign and since he was distracted, he cut the radius a bit too tight (I’m being really kind, aren’t I?) and hit her pretty much head-on. He was at least man enough to admit he was wrong/took his eyes off the road  to me and to the police officer who worked the wreck. (That makes the police’s job much easier…admitting you violated several motor vehicle statutes.)

Luckily, she was stopped or the results could have been much different.

Since the car, purchased used from our former city manager six or seven years ago has over 170,000 miles on it,  I think it is safe to bet on it being “totaled”.

The good news is that Jelly is going to get a newer ride, (notice I didn’t say “new”) no one was injured, the other driver received enough tickets to hopefully get his attention. (I know his dad and he is not going to be very happy) and did I mention no one was hurt?

"Owners Request" for Carolina Collision and my buddy Steve came and took it away.  He will remove the battery tomorrow.

“Owners Request” for Carolina Collision and my buddy Steve came and took it away. He will remove the battery tomorrow.

The worst part really was that earlier in the day we spent  $120.00 for a new battery for the QXR.  I’ll take that as the outcome of this any day.

I’m going to  beg mercy and try return it.

You just can’t make that up.

Today wasn’t a great day, but it sure could have been a whole lot worse.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in And The Worst Part Was and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to And The Worst Part Was. . .

  1. sunshinesbeauty says:

    Whew. Glad everyone is okay.

    Like

  2. So glad no one was hurt!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Becky B says:

    And your daughter clearly is wonderful in the way she dealt with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jeff Harbeson says:

    Glad she is okay…good job Dad!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. mac says:

    Wheeeew!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. niasunset says:

    Oh my God. I am glad no one was hurt. Have a nice day, Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tony R says:

    Really glad to hear that no one was hurt. That truck got her pretty good to be making a turn. Probably going a little too fast I would think.
    Tony R

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: I Finally Remembered | A Simple, Village Undertaker

Leave a Reply

