A Christian Conundrum

I am  growing weary of hearing/watching  Pope Francis’s visit…24/7.

I am Catholic, and not the Christmas and Easter variety. I am also a political/news junkie and many  say that I lean to the far right in both areas.

I belive that The Holy Spirit sends us the Pope that we need at that time we get him.  That belief provides me comfort.

I am concerned however, that members of the media, which are typically Anti-Christian/Anti-Catholic are slobbering all over themselves and even using correct descriptions of what is going on, i.e. “celebrating Mass”  as opposed to “saying Mass”.   Why the change? It just doesn’t make sense and I hope that the Successor to Peter is not being played as a political violin.

My usual response is that if the main stream media is excited about something/someone,  I probably am probably concerned about it/them.

Thus, I have a Christian conundrum.

But just like the song, Alice’s Restaurant is not about the restaurant, this post isn’t really about the Pope.

We were watching the Pope’s Mass at Madison Square Garden on TV  this evening, while preparing dinner and I thought I would show my wife and daughters how smart I was ( yea, I’m a humble guy) when I asked the question, “Who knows why the Pope is wearing a green Chasuble (Vestments)?   th

Not a second went by before our youngest, Megan (home from College for the weekend) answered, “Because it is Ordinary Time“.

BINGO!

A 20-year old who understands the church calendar?  Maybe I’m just a grumpy, old man, but I know that I wouldn’t be able to answer that when I was her age. Then again, maybe I’m just a proud daddy?

I’m impressed and  bet if I went to my church this  Sunday and asked that question,  probably less than half of the adults asked would  know the answer.

I am reminded of the value of the Catholic Education we provided our daughters, not only because of them knowing that priests Celebrate Mass in  green chasubles during “Ordinary Time”, but because it prepared them to have a unique perspective on the world around them.    It was worth the sacrifice.

Megan, ( R ) and her friend Anne Elise. They are both heading to India this December on a medical, mission trip.

Megan, ( R ) and her friend Anne Elise. They are both heading to India this December on a medical, mission trip.

It was a long, tiring day, but  it got better once I arrived home.

Being a daddy, while very expensive and often dramatic, has it’s benefits and is a worthy and satisfying endeavor. I recomend it enthusiastically.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Ordinary Time and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

