Stats, Schmatz

Stats?,  We don’t need no stinkin’ stats.

A few weeks ago, a blogging buddy suggested that I change the way I publish my blog, requiring readers to open the post in their browser. I thought this would be a good idea as it would require readers to see the post as I intended it and it also would give me a better view of my actual analytics.

th-1The blog is five and a half years old and  next week I will publish  my 2,700th post, (admittedly,  some are better than others). According to WP stats, I have just under 500 e-mail followers,  there have been  just over 30,000 visitors and 124,000 views.  I use Twitter, Linkedin, Tumbler and occasionally Reddit to help get the blog distributed accross the Fruited plain and beyond.  Yet, the WP numbers are lackluster at best and they didn’t appreciably change when I altered the format.

I poked around a bit and found that Linkedin also keeps stats and it seems that more people were linking to my posts via Linkedin, than WP was reporting as a total readership.  (Common Core Math?)

I can only surmise that WP analytics are not that reliable.  I have heard that there are other tracking programs you can add on, but when I tried them a few years ago, I was not able to get them to work.  th

So,  maybe there are more people reading the blog than I thought, but when I get curious and ask for everyone reading the blog that day to give me a “like” or a comment, there is little or no response.

Using that method, less than a dozen people actually read SVU.

Good thing that my self-worth is not built on a foundation of this blog.

I will continue on, because in the words learned from Kurt Harden, “I blog to amuse myself”.

What do you do?

 

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Wordpress stats suck and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stats, Schmatz

  1. To share. To record. To process. And yes, amuse myself on occasion. Like you, I don’t trust the stats….but eh….it’s okay. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debra says:

    Stats and analytics shift quite a bit. I base my enjoyment more on the comments from fellow bloggers who take the time to leave a comment and regularly stop by. They provide the satisfaction, and I think if I overcomplicate the issue by paying attention to the stats I’d probably not enjoy myself nearly as much!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Like our mutual friend, Andra, I am often too hard on myself. You do however, bring up a good point, which reminds me of why I started doing this…the “amuzing thing”.

    Like

  4. I like to write. Occasionally, I am good at it…other times, the entire thing is one long run on sentence of who knows what that only makes sense to my manic, add riddled brain… I started blogging as a way to keep my family across country up to date on our lives, mostly that of the grand children, with out actually writing letters or (((gasp))) talking to someone… I enjoy it. I just need to make time for it again…it has been a while!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

