My Weekend With Dora

No, Dora’s not a paramour, she’s a truck.

Dora the Explorer.

"Dora"

“Dora”

This weekend, daughter #3 went to visit a friend down by the Gulf Coast and it was  decided that my car got better gas mileage and Megan wasn’t about to argue, so she took my “old man sedan”  to the beach.

I got to drive Dora this weekend.  (I have a company car, but that’s for work and I don’t take a chance of using it for personal use, so it was parked this weekend).

Three things I learned this weekend:

First,  I still need to instill in my daughters that it’s not a bad idea to never let your gas tank level get below half a tank. When I got in Dora for the first time, the fuel level was below empty.

Second, it seems that Dora is experiencing some starter issues. Luckily, she always starts on the second try. All in all, she runs pretty darn good for having 146,000 miles under her hood.  I was pleasantly surprised.

Third, and reason for this post has to do with music. Many of you know that music is a big part of my life.  When I’m driving however, I  usually listen to talk radio, (imagine that?) or if in my car, Sirius 76, Symphony Hall.  Since Dora only has terrestrial radio, I just left it on the “Country” radio station from Augusta, GA that Megan listens to as I was in and out of the car all weekend.

I was surprised that most of the “Country” music that I heard was very similar to music I listened to under the banner of “Southern Rock” or “Classic Rock”.  I may sound a little incredulous, but this so-called country music has some pretty heavy guitar parts, strong bass lines and aside from lyrics about girls in tight jeans, pickup trucks, tail gating and  girls in tight jeans, (intentional), it is very similar to my music of the 1980’s. There are even some songs that have their roots in  hip-hop.

I did notice  the references to bands of my youth, hearing  references to The Marshall Tucker Band, several to Lynyrd Skynyrd and Hank Williams, Jr.

Some of the guys with the Southern drawls (real & faked), their own tight jeans and cowboy hats seem just a little insincere as they shred guitar parts…while singing about girls in tight jeans (a recurring theme while listening this weekend).

Maybe I’m being just a little cynical, but  perhaps girls do love  country boys as evidenced by this song from a few years ago.

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Dora The Explorer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Weekend With Dora

  1. 146k and still rollin’. Outstanding…

    Like

Leave a Reply

