My America

I have never seen it put out there any beter than this. Thanks to Colleen for this poem which should be in school textbooks all across the fruited plain.

The Chatter Blog

My America

My America is not perfect.

I’m not perfect either.

But the both of us,

Are hard working.

Willing to learn.

Charitable.

We both have strengths immeasurable.

Weaknesses we are willing to address.

For all of the good deeds in our histories,

We both have failings as well.

We have both taken chances,

And we have both given chances.

We have forgiven others,

And have accepted forgiveness for our own transgressions.

And we both desire

To persevere to a higher standard of ourselves.

No matter what I do,

No matter what my country does,

We both know the truth

Of not being able to please everyone.

I am loved

And

I am hated

Me,

And my America.

View original post

About Ray V.

Living in Aiken, South Carolina, USA, I like to share what I am looking at, thinking about or listening to. I refer to this as the view out my window. Thanks for stopping by.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My America

  1. Thank you Ray, I’m very touched by your words with this reblog. Happy 4th of July my friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

